I need a new coat

Winter drawing near and the fact that I simply live in England means I need to invest in a new coat. My old staple one was a charcoal grey military coat from River Island and did me a good service for 4-5 years and as much as I adore my faux fur coat (also River Island), I need a practical everyday investment.

Here are my top picks from the high street; I believe in spending a decent amount of money so that you will get stylish, reliable and comfortable use out of your coat, but not so much that my new coat will be all I buy this winter. Wanting to steer away from military and faux fur coats, my beloved Topshop and River Island proved little use to me, but I found plenty of gorgeous picks elsewhere. In no particular order:

Drumroll…

1) First up, is Boohoo’s beautiful tobacco coloured belted cape, which is at a stylish save of £25. Whether you need a new coat or not, I would definitely purchase this absolute steal, as it will add chic class to any outfit.

Image

2) Another beauty is this deep navy blue duffle coat with a fur collar to die for. I have always thought that duffle coats have an aura of adorable style to them and they definitely keep you oh so cosy! This particular one from Urban Outfitters has my mind drifting to a snowy day; the colours would look gorgeous against the crisp white snow. At £125, it’s a good deal more expensive than the previous Boohoo cape, but it would be money wisely spent.

Image

3) My next choice is perhaps better suited for a rainy day, rather than a bitter cold one, but it is undeniable that every girl needs a stylish mac in her wardrobe. I have had my eye on this burgandy-wine coloured mac with pu sleeves for a while now and with a bit of luck, it has just been reduced from £89 to £50. Bargain. The colours are definitely Autumn 2013 and the pleated bottom and bow at the waist are just too cute.

Image

4) I was really intrigued by this khaki textured parka coat, as the majority of khaki coats have the standard fur collar and hood. I love the unique texture and design of this coat and of course the colour is absolutely lush. The zips had a biker feel to the coat, but the relaxed structure of it keeps it from being too military-esque. Again, at £90 it may seem like a lot to pay, but for a good-quality coat, that is a decent price.

Image

5) Zara are on point with their oversized trench boyfriend coat. This grey woolen wraparound lovely gives the aura of ‘working girl’ and has an androgynous feel to it. It looks sturdy and cosy and fashionable, which is all any girl wants out of a coat. From past experience, Zara’s coats last you a long time and never go out of style. It is priced at £89.99, so it is not extortionate and will definitely keep you warm this winter.

Image

6) As a lover of tartan and bold, eclectic patterns, this Miss Selfridge biker coat was never going to slip past me. Slightly cheaper than the majority of the above, it is £79 and is perfect for those girls who live in their leather jackets. It is a great transition from jacket to coat, as the length and thickness will certainly protect you from the winter’s winds but it still resembles a jacket.

Image

Of course there are many more stunning coats and jackets out there, but those are my ‘Top 6’. I was originally only going to do a ‘Top 5’ but I could not have that Miss Selfridge tartan biker coat miss the list!

The most important things to remember when buying a coat:

1) Don’t worry about sizing. The cold weather means you will most definitely be wearing a thick jumper underneath your coat, therefore there is no point trying on a coat in a shop with only a vest top on underneath and deeming it to be the right size. Coats are meant to be bigger than your usual dress size!

2) For most people, this will be your only coat. If you wish to spend a lot of money on it, it will be your only outerwear investment, so there is no point purchasing a design that you know you will only wear a few times. If you hate clashing prints and colours, stick to black or other neutral colours and if you worry about your body shape, the structured military coat tends to nip people in in the right places.

3) Read the fine print. If you’re someone who thrives on high-quality materials, then you do not want to be spending more than necessary to only find out that your coat is not completely cashmere, but only has a small percentage.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment